• The ESR Division is one of the organizational units in the Rwanda Biomedical Center (RBC) under the Ministry of Health and as such has a key cross-cutting role in the area of surveillance and response. The ESR Division is comprised of four units

    1. Surveillance .

    2. Avian Influenza and Highly Pathogenic Diseases .

    3. Food and Waterborne Diseases

    4. Outbreak Preparedness and Response

    Each unit has a specific role in disease detection and response. Because of the very nature of infectious diseases and the interaction between environment, animal health and human health, the ESR Division often has a role to play with other Ministries and organizations including those across the national borders.