EAC appoints staff to various vacant positions

15 Apr 2022

East African Community Headquarters, Arusha, Tanzania, 15th April, 2022: The East African Community has made appointments for staff to fill various vacant positions in its Organs and Institutions.

The EAC Council of Ministers during its 47th Extra-Ordinary Meeting held from 4th to 6th April, 2022, and chaired by Kenya’s Cabinet Secretary for EAC and Regional Development, Hon. Betty Maina, appointed 35 eligible candidates to various positions in the EAC Organs and Institutions.

Among the high-profile appointments made by the Council at the EAC Organs are Mr. Alex Obatre as Clerk at the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA), Mr. John Mutega Njoroge as Deputy Clerk at EALA and Ms. Christine Mutimura-Wekesa as Deputy Registrar at the East African Court of Justice.

Key appointments at the EAC Secretariat include that of Ms. Irene Charles Isaka (Director Social Sectors), Mr. Arthemon Ndizeye (Director Customs), Mr. Aime Uwase (Director Planning) and Mr. Julius Muthwii Mbati as the Police Liaison Officer.

At the EAC Institutions, major appointments include that of Dr. Felix Rubagumya Kayigamba as Executive Secretary at the East African Health Research Commission (EAHRC), Dr. Masende Kahitira Bwire as Executive Secretary of the Lake Victoria Basin Commission (LVBC) and Dr. Sylvance Okeyo Okoth in a similar capacity at the East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO).

Dr. Novat Twungubumwe was appointed Deputy Executive Secretary at EAHRC while Ms. Stella Nyambeki Onyancha will be the Deputy Registrar, Monopolies and Cartels at the East African Competition Authority. Ms. Coletha Ruhamya has been appointed the Deputy Executive Secretary at LVBC.

Other appointments at the Institutions include Dr. James Otieno Jowi as the Deputy Executive Secretary at the East African Kiswahili Commission and Mr. Muyambi Fortunate as the Deputy Executive Secretary at EASTECO.

The appointments take effect on the reporting date.

The Council also retrospectively appointed Mr. Davids Etyang as the Chef de Cabinet in the Office of the Secretary General with effect from 1st December, 2021.

On financial matters, the 47th Extra-Ordinary Council adopted the Budget Estimates amounting to US$91 million to enable the EAC Organs and Institutions to discharge their mandate during the 2022/2023 Financial Year and forwarded the same to the East African Legislative Assembly for appropriation.

Also in attendance at the Council meeting were Hon. Amb. Ezechiel Nibigira (Minister EAC Affairs, Burundi), Dr. Emmanuel Ugirashebuja (Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Rwanda), Hon. Deng Alor Kuol (Minister for EAC Affairs, South Sudan), Rt. Hon. Rebecca Kadaga (1st Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for EAC Affairs, Uganda), Hon. Deogratius Ndekembi (Deputy Minister in the President’s Office, Public Service Management and Good Governance, Tanzania), EAC Secretary General Hon. (Dr.) Peter Mathuki and other Executives.

For more information, please contact:

Simon Peter Owaka
Senior Public Relations Officer
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs Department
EAC Secretariat
Arusha, Tanzania
Tel: +255 768 552087
Email: sowaka [at]